Fatima Tomar Tour the perfect tour for those who wanna understand the importance of the knights Templars, from the “construction” of one of the oldest European countries Portugal, and at the same time visit the Sanctuary of Virgin Mary, a few kilometers away.
|PLACE OF DEPARTURE||Hotel / Apartment, Lisbon|
|TIME OF DEPARTURE||8:30 AM|
|RETURN TIME||Approximately 6:00 PM in the afternoon.|
The Order of the Templars or Order of the Temple created in 1118 in Jerusalem composed by nine French knights among them Hugo de Payens and Geoffroy de Saint-Omer aiming to watch over the conveniences and protection of Christian pilgrims in the sacred territory. They brought them rivalries and fears, feelings that in the fourteenth century ended in their extinction, being declared guilty of heresy, defamation of the name of God, as well as sacred things, worshiping other gods, sexual perversions and practicing magic.
Fatima is originally Moorish, the name of one of the daughters of Muhammad, according to the legend Fatima was a Moorish princess, who was kidnapped during the Cristian reconquest, under the command of D. Afonso Henriques,.
Until the Apparitions of 1917, Fatima where on May 13, 1917 three children from humble families, went to pasture after the mass the flock of sheep in the lands of the father of one of them, there they felt a flash of lightning, in a bright and serene sky, according to one of them, they witness “a Lady dressed all in white, brighter than the sun, that told them, she said that he would return to six times in a row on the 13th of the next moths, at the time Fatima was a completely unknown village, but from then on, millions of pilgrims from all over the world came every year, with two Basilicas and a small one called the “Capelinha” or small Chapel.
Our Fatima Tomar Tour, its the best way to visit those beautiful places in Portugal, ask our reservations department right now.
Fatima - Sanctuary
Visit to the two Basilicas there; Our Lady of the White Rosary, Holy Trinity and the Chapel of the Apparitions, the first Chapel to be built shortly after the apparitions, located in the center of the Sanctuary is a place not to be missed, not for grandeur, but for the meaning, it is mandatory to visit it on our Tour Fatima Batalha Nazaré and Obidos.
At one end the Basilica of Our Lady of the White Rosary, built in 1928 with a neo-baroque architecture, here you will find the tombs of the three little shepherd children (Francis and Jacinta), and now also the tomb of Sister Lucia, in the other end the imposing Basilica of the Holy Trinity, built in 2007 with more than 8,000 seats and 40,000 m² of area designed by the Greek architect Alexandros Tombazis.